Olugbenga Agboola, Flutterwave CEO and Deputy Secretary-General of UN, Others received National Honour

Social Media Plug-ins:

President Muhammadu Buhari, yesterday, conferred national honours on Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Flutterwave, Olugbenga Agboola and 446 others in Abuja.

The National Honours Award was established by the National Honours Act of No 6 in 1964. However, it took a retroactive effect from October 1, 1963. The Act empowers the President to honour deserving citizens, who have contributed to the development of Nigeria in any field of endeavour.

Also attended by Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo and the President Chief of Staff, Ibrahim Gambari, the event took place at the International Conference Centre, Abuja and included several award categories including: 

Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON) in which the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Flutterwave, Olugbenga Agboola was awarded for his contributions to nation building through tech and business. 

Celebrating the win via his LinkedIn page, Agboola wrote: “Today, I became an Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON); a national honor recognising my contributions to nation building through tech and business. This for me is a call for continued service. As a private citizen, I will continue working to support nation building in tech and business. As CEO and Founder of Flutterwave, we will continue to build the technology that supports the growth of small businesses which are the backbone of our economy, while ushering as many of our young people into tech. 

I dedicate this award first to GOD (I AM HE THAT GOD HAS HELPED – IYKYK) and then to my Team; the waver army!”

With him in the same category were 107 others including Samuel Iyinoluwa Aboyeji, who worked hand in hand with Agboola to build Flutterwave.

Flutterwave CEO, Deputy Secretary-General of UN, Others Bestowed National Honour
Some recipients of the Awards

Another category was the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON) which comprised of; Senate President Ahmed Lawan; Acting Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola; Immediate past CJN, Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad; Director-General, World Trade Organisation (WTO), Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala; Deputy Secretary-General of UN, Amina Mohammed; and Nigeria Permanent Representative to the UN, Prof Tijjani Muhammad-Bande.

Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR) – made up of 55 persons including Tony Elumelu, Chairman of United Bank for Africa, Jim Ovia, Chairman of Zenith Bank, The Ooni of Ife HRM Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi Ojaja II, The Olu of Warri HRM Ogiame Atuwatse III, Late Chief of Staff to the President, Abba Kyari, Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State, Registrar of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB), Ishaq Oloyede, The Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State, among others

Member Order of the Niger (MON) consisted of popular musician Teniola Apata and 54 others. Other categories included Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR), Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON), Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON), Member of the Order of the Federal Republic  (MFR), Federal Republic Medal I (FRM I), Federal Republic Medal II (FRM II) and Foreigners.